Toyota Hiace Super Custom Owners Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Toyota Hiace Super Custom Owners Forum

Anything Toyota Hiace related

HomeHome  PortalPortal  GalleryGallery  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Auto Gearbox Problem

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
Dangarus

Number of posts : 12
Home City : Manchester
Registration date : 2011-07-04

Auto Gearbox Problem Empty
PostSubject: Auto Gearbox Problem   Auto Gearbox Problem Icon_minitimeMon Sep 05, 2011 10:20 am

Hi All,

I am a newbie to HiAce-ing and have just purchased a 1993 2.8 modified camper. Already found this site invaluable for finding how to fill up the wash wipe etc and was hoping someone out there could help with my current problem (I have searched the site already and can not find much on gearbox problems (a good sign i hope!)).

Van had been running smoothly but all of a sudden it is finding it hard to change up the gears (particularly into 3/D and over drive) when cold. It will not shift out of sencond and as it gets warmer will shift up and then immediately down keeping the engine reving high. It will also change down on slight inclines. The problem seems to stop when everything has got good and hot.

I have checked the gearbox oil level and it seems fine. Does anyone have any ideas or am I about to go and hand the local mechanic a blank cheque for a gearbox rebuild??

Back to top Go down
Clive
Hiace Master
Hiace Master
Clive

Number of posts : 1094
Home City : Bristol UK
Model and year : 2003 Range Rover 4.4 goes like a rocket and drinks like Oliver Reed!
Registration date : 2008-11-05

PostSubject: Re: Auto Gearbox Problem   Auto Gearbox Problem Icon_minitimeMon Sep 05, 2011 11:15 am

Have a search throught, there was a long and very detailed resolution to similar problems that you describe recently . If it is a no cost option must be worth searching for!
Back to top Go down
Dangarus