Toyota Hiace Super Custom Owners Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Toyota Hiace Super Custom Owners Forum

Anything Toyota Hiace related

HomeHome  PortalPortal  GalleryGallery  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Car/Van switch, when to have it in what position?

Go down 
AuthorMessage

Car/Van switch, when to have it in what position? Empty
PostSubject: Car/Van switch, when to have it in what position?   Car/Van switch, when to have it in what position? Icon_minitimeThu Nov 24, 2016 1:29 pm

As some of the regular members have no doubt already discovered, I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to camper/motorhome systems!

I have a main switch in the van.  In this picture all the switches are set to what I'd call the off position apart from the main on/off switch, which is on.

Car/Van switch, when to have it in what position? RcoGcbE

As I understand it, this switches from using the car battery, to the leisure battery, but I have a couple of questions about the car/van switch:

1. When should I use which?  Should it be in the off position (van, as it is in the photo) pretty much always, unless I need emergency power from the car battery because the leisure battery is dead?

2. Should it be on car if I'm driving?  I do have a fridge in the van which I think can be used when the engine is running?  I don't need the fridge anyway, so I've left that alone and I think on the fridge itself it's just set to be off.

3. If I'm connected to mains hookup, I'm guessing I want the main switch to on, and the car/van switch in the van position to charge the leisure battery?

4. If the car/van switch is set to car, does it charge the car battery instead of the leisure battery when hooked up?

Anyone have any manuals or anything? (I looked but I didn't find anything).  Sorry for the basic questions, but it's been very hard to find information using such generic keywords!