Toyota Hiace Super Custom Owners Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Toyota Hiace Super Custom Owners Forum

Anything Toyota Hiace related

HomeHome  PortalPortal  GalleryGallery  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Alternator removal

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
Roop

Number of posts : 2
Home City : Llandrindod Wells
Registration date : 2016-08-17

Alternator removal Empty
PostSubject: Alternator removal   Alternator removal Icon_minitimeWed Aug 17, 2016 8:32 am

Have a hiace super custom 1996 - Alternator stopped working - dodgy batteries cause it to fail I think! Need to remove and replace diodes I think? However complete novice at this. Looks like there's an air condition pump above it and looks like theres three belts to come off. Are there any manuals step by step guides or you tubes of removal by anyone?
Back to top Go down
Hiace4wd
Hiace Master
Hiace Master
Hiace4wd

Number of posts : 796
Home City : Netherlands
Model and year : 1994 Toyota Hiace 4x4 DIY camper
Registration date : 2016-02-01

Alternator removal Empty
PostSubject: Re: Alternator removal   Alternator removal Icon_minitimeWed Aug 17, 2016 1:03 pm

I don't have AC in it so I don't know how crammed it is in there, but can't you replace diodes and/or brushes while it is still in there? So without removing it?

Anyway, I don't think batteries can damage an alternator. It is only possible to damage batteries with a bad alternator (broken regulator giving a very high voltage for example)
In this case, if you are certain that your alternator is broken, it is probably because it is old. And you may think your batteries are dodgy because they were not charged properly by your alternator.
Back to top Go down
Clive
Hiace Master
Hiace Master
Clive

Number of posts : 1094
Home City : Bristol UK
Model and year : 2003 Range Rover 4.4 goes like a rocket and drinks like Oliver Reed!