Toyota Hiace Super Custom Owners Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Toyota Hiace Super Custom Owners Forum

Anything Toyota Hiace related

HomeHome  PortalPortal  GalleryGallery  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

sourcing an Engine!

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
naive dance man

Number of posts : 3
Registration date : 2009-07-09

sourcing an Engine! Empty
PostSubject: sourcing an Engine!   sourcing an Engine! Icon_minitimeWed Jul 15, 2009 3:52 pm

I've had my beautiful Super Custom for just a month and I stupidly lingered too long on the M40 with the temperature gauge lit up at max and the engine light on and... big cloud of white smoke and a serious smell of oil. Rode back to Brighton in a rescue vehicle.

I've been told its probably terminal so I guess I'm looking for a new engine.
Or head gasket... Unfortunately I have zero mechanical knowledge.

Any suggestions much appreciated.
Back to top Go down
Clive
Hiace Master
Hiace Master
Clive

Number of posts : 1094
Home City : Bristol UK
Model and year : 2003 Range Rover 4.4 goes like a rocket and drinks like Oliver Reed!
Registration date : 2008-11-05

PostSubject: Re: sourcing an Engine!   sourcing an Engine! Icon_minitimeWed Jul 15, 2009 8:15 pm

Did it go bang or did you just stop and turn it off?

If the later you may be lucky and just cooked the head. The only way to tell is by removing the head and inspecting for damage.

Did the rescue technician try to start it and did it turn over ok?

Cylinder heads are easy to source BUT beware of cheap heads on ebay these are often Chinese copies made from inferior meterials.

Also be aware that any import engine with low miles could be in the same state as yours is now!
Back to top Go down
Admin
Admin
Admin
Admin

Number of posts : 1128
Home City : Bristol
Registration date : 2007-01-15